Your voice of thanks amplified! Nominations are now open for the 2024 Australian Stud and Stable Staff Awards.



The Australian Stud and Stable Staff Awards proudly announce the commencement of nominations, welcoming you to appreciate, celebrate and motivate individuals shaping the future of our industry. This is your chance to show your gratitude as we honour the commitment and passion displayed by the backbone of our industry and great sport.

These Awards offer a platform for everyone to amplify their appreciation for colleagues, friends or family members who work within the thoroughbred industry. While the nomination process remains simple, it stands as a powerful and significant means of acknowledging their work and contributions.

Sebastian Hutch sums up this sentiment, expressing, “I encourage anyone with an inclination to nominate to do so, it’s a tremendous way to recognise people who commit their heart and soul to our great industry.”

This year, a six-week submission window is available, closing 5.00pm AEDT on Monday, 19 February 2024. As you submit a nomination, consider how this small amount of your time and effort will not only instill pride in your nominee but also highlight the value of their contributions to the industry.

Every individual within the thoroughbred industry has a place in these Awards, with nominations accepted across seven categories:

  • Leadership Award (Sponsored by Victoria Racing Club)
  • Horsemanship Award (Sponsored by Inglis)
  • Dedication to Breeding Award (Sponsored by Magic Millions)
  • Dedication to Racing Award (Sponsored by Australian Turf Club)
  • Administrative and Ancillary Services Award (Sponsored by Melbourne Racing Club Foundation)
  • Thoroughbred Care and Welfare Award (Sponsored by Queensland Off-The-Track (QOTT Program)
  • Newcomer Award (Sponsored by Thoroughbred Industry Careers and Marcus Oldham College)

Each category offers a cash prize of $10,000 for the winner and $3,000 for the runner-up, except for the Newcomer category, where the winner receives $5,000 and the runner-up $3,000.

The overall Excellence Award presented at the end of the evening, honours an individual who has made significant, exceptional contributions to the industry. In 2023, John “Crewie’ Brady received this honour for his remarkable 70-year tenure in the thoroughbred industry, among icons like Tommy Smith and Gai Waterhouse.

That narrative captures the primary goals of the Australian Stud and Stable Staff Awards. These Awards are proudly presented by Thoroughbred Breeders Australia and Racing Australia, supported by Godolphin, and sponsored by the Victoria Racing Club, Australian Turf Club, Queensland Off-The-Track (QOTT Program), Inglis, Magic Millions, Melbourne Racing Club Foundation, along with Thoroughbred Industry Careers and Marcus Oldham.

Ready to nominate? Amplify your voice! Nominations close at 5.00pm AEDT on Monday, 19 February 2024.

Back to news