Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible for the awards?

The awards is open to any stud and stable staff employed in Australia who are a registered employee of their stud or stable.

Who can nominate?

Nominations for the awards can be made by, but are not limited to, trainers, owners, breeders, stable staff, stud staff, office personnel and office administrators.

When do I nominate?

Nominations are now open and will close at midnight (AEST) on Tuesday, 9 March, 2021. Nominations received after this date will not be accepted.

How do I nominate?

By completing the online form or printing the PDF and sending to:

Mary Capuano, Racing Australia, Level 11, 51 Druitt St, Sydney, NSW, 2000 or by email to

What are the award categories?

Please click here to obtain information on all the award categories and prize-money allocated.

Can I nominate myself?

Yes, self-nominees must provide details of 2 referees in support of the nominee. Third party nominators must supply details of one referee (other than the nominator) for the nominee. All nominees must have consented to be nominated and agree to be bound by these terms and conditions.

Who decides the winners?

A judging panel is comprised of individuals from across the thoroughbred and related industry. The Panel may require some additional information in order to make its determinations.

What is Racing Australia?

Racing Australia is the national industry body, representing Thoroughbred racing in Australia.

What is Thoroughbred Breeders Australia?

Thoroughbred Breeders Australia TBA is the parent company of the six State breeders’ associations and has an associate membership base of 3,780 individual breeders and industry participants. TBA is a non-profit industry body established for the benefit of the Thoroughbred breeding industry.

What is Godolphin and what is it’s involvement?

Godolphin is the global thoroughbred breeding and horseracing stable founded by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai. Godolphin is the principal sponsor of the Awards and builds on the success of the sponsorship of Awards in England, Ireland, France and America.