Thoroughbred industry’s unsung stars recognised at the 2022 Stud and Stable Staff Awards


A lifetime’s work in some of Australia’s most famous stables has been recognised and rewarded at the Gold Coast Turf Club on Wednesday evening for the 2022 Stud and Stable Staff Awards presented by Thoroughbred Breeders Australia and Racing Australia with the sponsorship support of Racing Queensland, the Australian Turf Club, the Victoria Racing Club, Inglis, Magic Millions, Thoroughbred Industry Careers, Marcus Oldham College and the Melbourne Racing Club and with additional support from Godolphin.

Seven category winners from a record number of nominations for 2022’s Awards were celebrated, recognised and rewarded and one of the army of workers whose devotion and skill keeps racing alive, Reg Fleming was named the overall winner of the Thoroughbred Excellence Award following being awarded the recipient of the Dedication to Racing Award.

Fleming is one of seven winners of the annual Stud and Stable Staff Awards that acknowledge the thousands who operate behind the scenes in Australia’s thoroughbred racing and breeding industry.

Fleming, formerly the long-time Melbourne foreman for legendary trainer Bart Cummings and now filling the same role with Godolphin Australia, he also takes a keen interest in the welfare of retired racehorses, recently becoming the lifetime carer for the former top-class galloper Hartnell.

Other winners to emerge from hundreds of nominations from around the country were Liesl Baumann from Cressfield Stud in NSW who won the SSSA’s Leadership prize and Adam Shankley from Arrowfield Stud, winner of the Horsemanship Award.

On a big night for Arrowfield, Jess Hood made it a double for the Hunter Valley-based farm, taking out the Administration and Ancillary Services category.

In the Dedication to Breeding section, the nod went to Kelly Frost from Godolphin Australia’s Northwood Park farm in Victoria while in the Care and Welfare section, a previous finalist, Fiona McIntyre had her selfless and vital work in re-homing and retraining rewarded with top honours in the Thoroughbred Care and Welfare category.

As well as recognising long-term service, the SSSA also offers a Newcomer Award to those who have been working in the industry for two years or less.

The 2022 Newcomer winner is Sacha Roberts whose move from running a chicken shop to working for Victorian trainer Mick Kent has been a revelation to both her and her boss. The Newcomer winner receives $5,000 and an educational visit to Dubai.

Winners in each category, excluding the Newcomer, receive a cash prize of $10,000 and a trophy with $3,000 to each runner-up and $1,000 to share among workplace colleagues with the Excellence winner receiving a further $5,000.

Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2022 Stud and Stable Staff Awards:

Administrative and Ancillary Services Award sponsored by the MRC Foundation – winner: Jess Hood, Arrowfield Stud

  • Dedication to Racing sponsored by the Australian Turf Club – winner: Reg Fleming, Godolphin Australia – Thoroughbred Excellence Award winner
  • Dedication to Breeding sponsored by Magic Millions – winner: Kelly Frost, Godolphin Australia
  • Horsemanship Award sponsored by Inglis – winner: Adam Shankley, Arrowfield Stud
  • Leadership Award sponsored by the Victoria Racing Club – winner: Liesl Baumann, Cressfield Stud
  • Thoroughbred Care and Welfare Award sponsored by Racing Queensland – winner: Fiona McIntyre,  McIntyre and Lumsden
  • Newcomer Award sponsored by Thoroughbred Industry Careers and Marcus Oldham College – winner: Sacha Roberts, Mick Kent Racing

Back to newsRead more >