Dedication to Racing Award sponsored by the Australian Turf Club


The Dedication to Racing Award, sponsored by the Australian Turf Club, celebrates outstanding horsemanship within the racing domain. This accolade honours individuals who have demonstrated remarkable talent, dedication and have made pivotal contributions to their employer’s success within the racing industry.

What key qualities define winning this Award?

For this recognition, nominees should presently hold employment within a racing stable environment requiring a minimum of five years, showcasing traits of perseverance, passionate equine care, loyalty, and commitment to their team. Their nomination underscores not only their skills but also their significant contributions that bolster the overall success of their employers in racing.

Roles that fall under consideration include:

Strappers, Foremen, Stable Hands, Barrier Attendants, Track Riders, Track Maintenance Staff, Racecourse Managers, Stewards, Racing Secretaries, Race Club Admin Staff, Clerks, and Assistant Trainers.

These roles represent just a few among the many positions eligible for nomination within this category. 

Celebrating Past Winners:

The Dedication to Racing Award boasts a lineup of past winners:

  • 2023: John Brady (Waterhouse Bott Racing NSW)
  • 2022: Reg Fleming (Godolphin Carbine Lodge VIC)
  • 2021: Gary Fennessy (Lindsay Park Racing VIC)
  • 2020: Michael Hurry (Victoria Racing Club VIC)
  • 2019: Steve Adams (Anthony Freedman Racing VIC)
  • 2018: Joe Agresta (Malua Racing VIC)
  • 2017: Jeremy Rogers (Darren Weir Racing VIC)
  • 2016: Hayley Nichols (Kelly Schweida Racing QLD)
  • 2015: Mark Newnham (Gai Waterhouse Racing NSW)

Take a simple yet impactful step: Identify the individual you believe deserves a nomination for the 2024 Stud and Stable Staff Awards. This is your chance to ensure that staff feel appreciated, celebrated, and motivated to shape the future of our industry.

Ready to nominate? Make a difference today!

Back to blogRead more >